jump to navigation

My Bed Tries To Hurt Me! September 18, 2010

Posted by Just a typical dad in general stuff.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Everyone loves a big bed with a nice bouncy mattress and I am in no way different I just wish I had one!

Now don’t get me wrong I do have a bed me and Emma have a nice looking double bed with a pine headboard but nice looking is about as far as it goes.

We got it about 14 months ago and I remember the day well.

I was really excited as I love that “new bed feel” all springy but soft at the same time and this bed was no different once i had managed to get it upstairs followed by the mattress I then figured out where it would look best in the bedroom (although as I am a man this was of course wrong). I then threw a fresh quilt over it chucked a couple of pillows on and it was beautiful!

As a few months went by the sleep continued to be as beautiful as it was from the start but then one fateful day I had to reach to get some thing from the top of the airing cupboard and was stood on the bed trying to reach it when “CRACK!” after falling of and nearly catching my head on the chest of draws I quickly examined underneath the mattress the wood has nearly broken in half!

Once i had put the mattress back on to see how it looked there was an obvious dip on my side if the bed. it wasnt too bad to sleep on it didn’t cause a large amount of discomfort but it was defiantly noticeable.

After another couple of months of sleeping on a slope I started to notice something poking me. Yes the springs were coming through the mattress! now this was quite uncomfortable!

The last thing you want poking you in bed is a spring! πŸ˜‰

So trying to lie around the springs slowly puts the mattress out of shape and now it looks more like a small mountain range than a mattress!

I know what your thinking and yes it probably did contribute but I probably shouldnt go into that on here πŸ˜‰

Also im guessing that a lot of you are thinking “why don’t you just go out and buy a new one?” well have you seen the prices of beds and mattress’ these days?? im sure they were like Β£5 when I was a kid. Now you can get a half decent one for as cheap as Β£100…….. haha yeah right!

My Dream Bed

We have talked about saving up for a new one but every time we start to another financial crisis comes up and we have to sort that out (im pretty sure im not o my own with this).

So when I go to bed now I face the wrath of the springs, the fear of falling of the sloped mattress and going through broken wood!

I’m beginning to think my bead may be dying a slow and painful death. I guess I should start saving for a new one! Cue the next financial crisis!

Comments»

1. Cherilyn doyle - September 18, 2010

Haha your bed sounds just like mine, all the springs are on my OH’s side and there is also a slope at the bottom, where he stood on it to reach the top of the wardrobe!

Just a typical dad - September 18, 2010

haha its spooky how alike they are! and near enough the same situation too! πŸ™‚

2. PhotoPuddle - September 18, 2010

The annoying things about buying a bet (and a cot for that matter) is that you find one you like that’s reasonably priced and then you realise you’ve got to spend the same again on a mattress. They should come together really.

PhotoPuddle - September 18, 2010

I should read what I write before I post: ‘things’ should be ‘thing’ and ‘bet’ should be ‘bed’. Grrr.

Just a typical dad - September 18, 2010

Hehe don’t worry I should really proof read twice before I post things! But yeah I think all beds should cone with matteress’s <– is that even a word with 3 s on the end?? I think I might open up my own bed store there is surly millions in it!! πŸ™‚

3. Emma - September 18, 2010

You bead is dying? Was that meant to say back???! I’ve changed my mind about my Birthday present now.. I want that bed instead!!

Just a typical dad - September 18, 2010

Haha surly it would make more sense if I meant to say bed?? X

4. Emma - September 18, 2010

Oops you were still logged in when I left my comment!

5. Barenakedmummy - September 19, 2010

I can send you both my half of our bed (but it may come with small child attached!). I’ve given up sleeping anyway its not good for you!!
BNM

Just a typical dad - September 20, 2010

I will take it! πŸ™‚

6. FIFA 14 Autobuyer - May 27, 2013

I do not even know how I finished up here, however I assumed
this submit was once good. I don’t recognise who you’re however certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!

7. Luisa - January 28, 2015

Webmaster do you want unlimited content for your blog? Serarch
in google:
Anightund’s rewriter


Leave a Reply

