jump to navigation

The trouble a Cookie in a box kit can get you in. September 15, 2010

Posted by Just a typical dad in general stuff.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Ok now I know its been about 4 months since I last blogged and I apologise for that although I did have my reasons! one of the biggest being only having one laptop in the house to which methemanandthebaby uses a lot for uni work and blogging etc and there is only so many blogs you can write on an iphone as it doesn’t let you upload pictures or video’s to it.

But now after a few months of rest (or laziness which ever you like) im back! and hopefully to stay now im not going to promise a blog a day but im sure I can stick to a blog every other or every couple of days! 🙂

I should really write about everything I’ve been up to since I last blogged but if I did that then this could quite possibly be the longest post ever written!

so over the next couple of posts you may see a few blog flash backs just to keep you up to date with the goings on in my life!

So for today’s post I will take you back a little bit but not too far I think it was the week before last!

I was food shopping for something for tea when I get a text from Emma saying “get me stuff to make cookies with” so as im wandering round our local supermarket thinking what will she need?? and I find myself next to the “just add water packets”.

So me being me i picked up a flavour i though i would enjoy and ventured home with my ready to bake cookie kit and stuff for chicken enchiladas. when i got through the door I was bombarded with questions like “what did you get for tea” “did you get coke” & “why have you still got your shoes on?”.  after i had answered all of them (and taken my shoes off) I pulled out the ready to bake cookie mix……..she wasnt happy!

apparently its a form of cheating! and doesn’t taste as nice as when you bake them yourself! but nevertheless i managed to persuade her to use it. After we had eaten dinner Emma disappeared into the kitchen (whilst still cursing me for buying it) and began making the cookies.

After about 15 minutes she reappeared still scowling at me (but smelling quite nicely of cookie dough!)  and told me that they would be ready in about 20 minutes.

So after a quick go on Final Fantasy (I’m massively into it at the moment!) the cookies were taken out of the oven. As i was about to grab and devour one i was told they have to cool down………i felt like a small child waiting for them. i even considered stealing one when she wasn’t looking and running to the bedroom to eat it!

after another quick blast on FF i saw Em dissapear into the kitchen and shout “there ready!” like a shot i jumped off the sofa and ran to grab one.

I can honestly say they were AMAZING!  soft and chewy etc everything you want from a cookie!

Emma still wasnt impressed but deep down i know she enjoyed them! 🙂

i haven’t been allowed to buy them again since and Em has made her own batch a couple of times and although they are really yummy………there is just something about the packet mix that tickles my taste buds more! (it’s probably some chemicals or something!)

So my question is, is using packet cookie mix cheating? and is there a recipe out there that can trump a certain famous ladies boxed cookie mix if so can you let either me or Me, The Man And The Baby know!

Also im available for cookie tasting if you wish to send them to me 🙂



So there you have it my first blog of many more to come! including….. The Mads , Social Services, Butlins, Citroen DS3 Dsport, and much much more 🙂

Comments»

1. Kat - September 15, 2010

The only way to bake is to cheat. Fact.

Just a typical dad - September 15, 2010

im so glad someone else agrees! 🙂

2. urbanvox - September 15, 2010

cheater!!! tut tut… about the dayly blogging thing… ummmm… willl believe it when I see it… 🙂

Just a typical dad - September 15, 2010

hehe i said every couple of days! might even blog about our little go karting experience next…… (no im never letting you forget!)

urbanvox - September 15, 2010

might blog at how you couldn’t keep up and I had to stop aaaalll the time for u to catch up with us whilst driving REAL cars then… 😛
lol

Just a typical dad - September 15, 2010

That was because of roundabouts and t junctions! Lol

3. Emma - September 15, 2010

Betty Crocker has nothing on me!

Just a typical dad - September 15, 2010

hehe i worked hard to not mention makes so she didnt sue me…..but then again i was praising her so if anything she should give me loads for free! yaaaaaaay Betty Crocker! 🙂

Emma - September 15, 2010

My homemade are so much better and you knows it!

Just a typical dad - September 15, 2010

if i disagree are you going to stop making them 😦 lol

4. Michelle - September 15, 2010

Yessss, it’s cheating but I like:-) It saves a lot of mess in the kitchen to get the ready made stuff. Although I’m not fond of the amounts of chemicals and sugar in them. Honestly I only make these when getting people around otherwise I eat them all:-((

Emma - September 15, 2010

I’m pretty sure I could taste all the horrid chemicals in that betty c one! Tescos do a really nice one which you add water too! But of course nothing beats homemade cookies!! 🙂

Just a typical dad - September 15, 2010

All i could taste was delicious warm cookies! 🙂

Just a typical dad - September 15, 2010

but isnt cheating only a form of quicker winning? 🙂

5. Susie - September 15, 2010

duncan hines is not cheating-it is fab.

Just a typical dad - September 15, 2010

Not tried that one yet 🙂


Leave a Reply

