jump to navigation

My old friend John May 20, 2010

Posted by Just a typical dad in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

Before i begin i would like to state that the title of this blog is in no particular order of importance! ๐Ÿ˜›

As you might have gathered by now im a bit of a gamer and if im completely honest it does take up a fair bit of my life but im sure it can’t be counted as an addiction….yet!

I love my Xbox 360 and wouldnt swap it for anything in the word! (no definitely not a ps3) and although it slightly sickens me to think about it this way i have possibly spent about ยฃ1000 on xbox games over the couple of years i have had it!

At current i have about 20ish games (that tend to cost about ยฃ50 each generally) to which i try to play. And two controllers with charger packs (see everything adds up)

Now i know some people have very high views on children playing video games and i also have some but i dont think its a bad thing for small children to play some games for example Oli (who is one and a little bit) loves helping me play fifa! (or just helping win just ask urbanvox hehe) although understandably i would never let oli play/watch a game full of killing and swearing.

When i was growing up….from about the age of 10ish anyway i always had a games console and in moderation it was good fun and never did me any serious damage! Now you may have noticed i said in moderation and this is because i have known kids to get in from school and go straight on the games console and not come off till bedtime. This i disagree with.

I went to school boy called John higgins who was like any other boy i hung out with him a few times and he was on some school trips with me and genuinely seemed like a normal 15 year old boy and then his parents brought him a playstation for christmas and everything changed.

you only began to notice little things at first like him missing the odd day at school but this was just put down to illness little did we know he was faking it to play more playstation. afterย  a couple of months we started to see less and less of John untill the point he was off for two weeks straight!

Thinking something was seriously wrong a couple of us ventured to his house. We rang the door bell and we were met by what looked like a very stressed women. we asked if John was about and she explained everything apparently John had become so addicted to the games console he rarely came out of his room and meals had to be simply left outside his door for him to eat! he hadn’t showered or washed in weeks and didnt react well to light.

We found it hard to believe so asked if we could go up to his room she was willing to try anything to get him away from the computer, now i should mention they had tried to just take it away but he went mental and started breaking things and smashing up his room, so we opened his bedroom door to be met only by the light coming from his tv.

The smell was awful a mixture of rotting food and age-old sweat, he didn’t even acknowledge us untill we stood in front of the tv then all we got was a sharp “get out of the way what do you want?”. I was sad to see what was once a friend like this he was a completely different person! when he was at school he had short hair with a bit of a fringe (it was the in look) and now he hadย  long shaggy greasy hair that had not obviously been washed in a while.

There was plates everywhere and he was sat on the floor in his boxers and a vest (not a good look) after trying to speak to him and getting no response for about 15 minutes we gave up and left.All off us in quite a bit of shock as to what we just saw.

A couple of weeks later John was taken outย  of school and we were told he was being home tutored but in the back of our minds we all knew that he still probably hadn’t left his room.

That was the last i saw of my old friend john ive since tried to find him on facebook and twitter but didnt have any luck i hope he got himself cleared up and out of that room.

Maybe the moral of all of this isn’t to go rushing to your children and ripping the controller out of their hands and locking up the console i think it’s just keep an eye on how much they play and maybe pout the console somewhere were they can be monitored and where they can’t shut the curtains to make it darker, like the living room or (if you have a big enough house) a playroom.

Anyway hope i havent just ruined some kids chances of playing on there xbox tomorrow night ๐Ÿ™‚

Catch ya later ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments»

1. becky - May 20, 2010

it is a warning, for the minute my 6 & 3 year old play the odd Wii game but now their dad has moved out we have no PS3 or Xbox 360. My daughter did like some games on those.

My husband let pre-teen kids play 15 games and I wasn’t keen on that…

May let my daughter play a little on my PSP (once I find the charger!) but only on long car journeys etc.

Just a typical dad - May 20, 2010

i think the wii is sort of a next generation console as it keeps the kids moving etc but at the end of the day is still a console and not outdoor play lol i had a psp once it was great fun! certainly recomended! (sorry for the spelling my spell checker isnt working! that goes for all of the other comments too) ๐Ÿ˜€

2. Jenny Paulin - May 20, 2010

wow! what a waste of his life if he never got out of that room! I hope he did in the end! My OH loves playing on his XBox (infact he has just gone up to play on it now!) and with gadgetry in general, and i have told him that I dont want Burton playing on one until he is a lot older. This is because I want him to play games that don’t involve a computer or an iphone while he is little. Play with toys, go out on his bike, read books and play board games FIRST then when he has experienced gaming that requires using his imagination then maybe gaming on a games console can be allowed.. Hmmm I wonder what the outcome will be!!

Just a typical dad - May 20, 2010

im hoping that oli will have a general mixture (with a bit of guidence) i think there is always the option of have a healthy balance of computer games and outdoor fun! ๐Ÿ˜€

3. mrsljhall - May 20, 2010

My boys are in danger of becoming John…. I think their DSs are now melded into their hands! And my youngest stepson (who is autistic) is obsessed with the PS3 – although I can possible let him off! I will now burn the DSis and tell the boys that you said too :o)

Just a typical dad - May 20, 2010

haha dont do that they will hunt me down when there older! ๐Ÿ˜€

4. Vic - May 20, 2010

You’ve seen TB and the xbox – he’s six and he can already beat grown men at Halo! lol. But in all seriousness, if I thought a game was really unsuitable, I wouldn’t let him play it. I’ve already moaned at the husband for playing games full of swearing in front of him. I know TB’s got a fairly high threshold for watching blood, guts and gore and with the xbox in the living room we can at least supervise. I’d never let him have one in his room though; we’d never see him again.

Just a typical dad - May 20, 2010

haha but when i play against TB i can tell he is just playing for fun! and not seriously even if he does kick my butt! lol

5. Paula Maher - May 20, 2010

Like most things we do/eat/drink…everything in moderation. I’ll never understand parents who let their kids dictate to them! Nice piece.

6. urbanvox - May 20, 2010

I too grew up with games and consoloes and I know what the game addiction is in first instance. My brother was like that for wuite a while… and he is only getting over it recently. He is 25 years old and if you ask him how hard it was to stay without gaming when he went cold turkey he’s probably describe it the same way a crack addict would.
I have to say: I am a gamer… and when I get started on a new game I’ll play at it every day until I finish it. And believe me when I say that some times I NEED my gaming fix. It is a “recreational drug”and I use it to di-stress…
Although when it comes to my son using it I am strict, sometimes not with what he plays (As vic said, he can kick Jon’s ass on halo… LOL) but with the amount of time he plays… If I’ll let him he’ll play all day and more… although for his credit he’s been quite good with it latelly… he played for 20 min yesterday… turned everything off and went to play legos… that’s ma boy! ๐Ÿ™‚
very nice post Jon!!!! And well reminded!

7. Louise @ WeeWifie's World - May 21, 2010

My son LOVES the wii… he is also quite addicted. He is only 6!

He however, would prefer to play outdoors with his friends.

He still plays too much wii for my liking though, and am trying to cut down the amount of time he’s on it. His favourite one is Super Smash Brothers. He and his friends love to pretend to play it outside just jumping about in person pretending to fight without even touching each other lol, it’s quite funny to watch really!

That’s crazy about your friend… my goodness that poor kid!

I’m glad my wee one has friends next door at either side that he can play with since he’s no siblings to go outside and play with.

Everything in moderation huh…

Just a typical dad - May 21, 2010

aaaaah thats like my favourite game on the wii too! although i can never say i played it outside ๐Ÿ™‚ i think power rangers was my outdoor pretend fighting game! sounds like he does have the best of both worlds! (outdoor and indoor fun). You can now blame him for me possibley going out to buy super smash bros ๐Ÿ˜›

8. Just a typical dad - May 21, 2010

Great Post Hun xx

Just a typical dad - May 21, 2010

Em you need to sign out of my account when you comment on my posts lol
x


Leave a Reply

