jump to navigation

My Iphone Vs……..The Nokia N900 October 26, 2010

Posted by Just a typical dad in general stuff, reviews.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Now hopefully I should be posting a few posts like this  not because I don’t like my iPhone but i think that what with technology advancing so quickly its exciting (well for me and the other geeks out there) to see what each phone manufacturer are coming up with to combat the everyday growing sales of the iPhone!

I do obviously understand that the Nokia N900 might not have been released as a rival to the iPhone but i can hardly compare it to a phone I don’t own can I where would be the fun in that :)

I got my iPhone 3GS about 3 months-ish ago after pestering Emma for about a year and instantly fell in love with it as it was everything that i expected and wanted although as the saying goes nothing is perfect!

Obviously not everyone wants the same thing when it comes to a mobile phone e.g. Emma has a blackberry as it gives easy access to any email service and twitter etc. But for me the main features for a phone are : -

  • WiFi
  • Email
  • Music
  • Apps
  • Camera
  • Looks

 So with that WOMWORLD agreed to send me a Nokia N900 to trial for a couple of weeks to see what I thought! and on first impressions I can honestly say I was a little scared! :)

The last Nokia I owned (and Loved) was my Nokia N95 which i still have in a draw upstairs some were although I think I broke the charging mechanism by dropping it :(

So yeah back to the point I opened up the box to discover this shiny touch screen staring right back at me. I wasted no time in grabbing it pulling the battery out and throwing my SIM card in. Upon turning it on you get the usual Nokia Welcome (the hands coming together) and then you get the set up guide wich came in handy as I had just dived in at the deep end (because im a man instruction booklets mean nothing to me!)

After the setup I was confronted with a screen that fitted me perfectly! it had links to Email, Twitter and Facebook! I will admit it took me a minute to find the menu and other pages but again this possibly boils down to the whole me man no menu thing!

So after conquering the menu I discovered that the phone works on a scrolling screen basis (this isn’t a professional term it’s actually something I just made up but it sounds pretty good eh?) which is basically where you can have 4 screens that you can scroll between by swiping either left or right. Now this is nothing incredibly new I know that but it is very convenient!

On these four menus you can customise to have what ever you like one of them can be completely devoted to twitter the other one to certain apps etc I had one for social networking, one for App Downloads from Maemo and Ovi , one for regular contacts that I text on a daily basis just for easier access and one for photos (mainly of my car crash).

After customizing the phone to how I liked on the scrolling screens (there it is again!) I went exploring! The phone has a main menu with things like settings, photos ect which is accessed by pressing the little squares in the top left corner to which I discovered the downloads manager.

I was quite excited about this as I had recently heard about Nokia  branching out in the app world with the help of Ovi & Maemo and i was eager to see what it had to offer! I should mention that my iPhone is currently sporting 227 apps so as you can see im a bit of an app addict.

So with that I was quickly downloading different apps such as angry bird & a personal favourite of mine an app that allowed me to have a moving background! yeah I know im easily pleased but it really did make me happy having the matrix moving background on when people had a look! :)

I have searched quite hard for an iPhone app to let me do that but as of yet no luck! :(

Using the pointer makes choosing things nice and easy and gives good accuracy! I will give you a good example of this with an app I recently downloaded on my iPhone it’s all about reactions and trying to do things in a certain time including putting pressure on a dot and releasing the pressure (with your finger) when the dot turns green. Now on the iPhone this was quite difficult as your finger covers a large area and nearly all of the circle so seeing I is difficult and yet using a pointer on the N900 was easy!

Whilst i had the N900 I thought I would try out  the 5MP Camera and I wasnt disappointed I knew from experience that Nokia’s had good cameras and this was no different and the flash came in handy more than you could know! I should add that the phone its self is pretty tough too as it survived my car crash and came away unscathed! and in full working order!

Now back to the flash! oh how ive missed having a flash on a camera phone! obviously after I crashed my car it was dark and I needed to take pictures of the damage and without a flash it would have been quite rubbish!

I really enjoyed being able to use the slide out keyboard not only was it a nice change but it looked pretty good doing it in front of people!

There is a significant difference in size and shape compared to the iPhone which I would say is one of its only downfalls as otherwise its a very good phone!

Overall I would give the Nokia N900 a strong 7/10 as the shape and size is bigger than I would want and the range of apps available is tiny compared to apples app store. 

So Nokia I would like to give you a big well done on what you have done with the N900 it really is a good phone with its own sort of uniqueness! but im afraid this time im sticking with the iPhone! better luck next time :)

Comments»

1. beth good life - October 26, 2010

I’ve recently swapped the N900 for a BlackBerry. the N900 promised me great things but in my opinion it just didn’t deliver. The BB is just so much more my cup of tea.
After a while the N900 starts to play up and the screen would go blank while somone is calling you.
Never tried an iPhone so can’t comment on that. :)

Just a typical dad - October 26, 2010

i dont really get on with blackberry keyboards otherwise i cant really fault them as for the N900 i wasnt really promised anything and only did a little bit of research so pretty much everything was a surprise! lol and plus i only had it for two weeks so nothing went wrong hehe

Beth GoodLife - October 26, 2010

lol.. You are more than welcome to try mine out for a few months… ;)
Only had it since Feb..

2. Emma - October 26, 2010

I suppose at the end of the day it’s down to what you want it for. I liked the blackberry pearl because it was the perfect keyboard layout for me and I have many friends that use the BB messenger function. I also like the way my hotmail comes straight to my phone and alerts me to a new message , I dont think the iphone has that function. But when I come to getting a new handset next month that will be something I will look into.

Just a typical dad - October 27, 2010

lol as much as I love you hunny this comment seems just too serious! :)
x

Emma - October 27, 2010

I’m a serious woman! :P x

3. John Roberts - October 27, 2010

I think Nokia have a lot of work to do on the app store to catch up with Apples.

What was the battery life like? I think I am with you on the camera, but that will be one bonus of the iPhone 4

Just a typical dad - October 27, 2010

the battery was pretty good! which i will admit i was surprised at as my N95 battery wasn’t the greatest. as for the the iPhone 4 if they hadn’t changed the shape to how they have i think i might already have one but i just prefer the old 3GS shape.

4. north coast car covers san diego ca - April 25, 2013

Whats up very cool website!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .
. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also? I’m
glad to find so many useful info here within the put up,
we want develop extra strategies in this regard, thanks
for sharing. . . . . .

5. coverking custom car covers - April 25, 2013

I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or
blog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website.
Studying this info So i’m happy to convey that I’ve a very excellent uncanny
feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most indubitably will make certain to don?
t put out of your mind this web site and give it a glance regularly.

6. Millard - April 28, 2013

Aw, this was a really good post. Taking the time and actual effort to produce a great article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

7. simplemente haga clic en el siguiente sitio web - April 28, 2013

Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

8. Elliott - April 28, 2013

Excellent pieces. Keep writing such kind of information
on your page. Im really impressed by your blog.
Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and
personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

9. Jeanne - April 28, 2013

Normally I do not read post on blogs, however I would
like to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so!
Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice article.

10. http://raymondzin.jigsy.com/entries/general/top-5-tips-on-how-to-sing-like-a-rock-star - May 16, 2013

Yes! Finally someone writes about singing lessons temecula.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

